Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Study plan details

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

For Franchisee Enquiry


Join NOW to get access to exclusive
study material for best results

Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Your cart is empty

NEET Biology Biological Classification

Biological Classification PDF Notes, Important Questions and Synopsis




  • Different classification systems proposed by scientists:

    Classification System


    Two Kingdom Classification

    • Linnaeus (1758) divided all organisms into two kingdoms—Plantae and Animalia 

    Three Kingdom Classification

    • Haeckel (1866) created a new kingdom Protista having only unicellular eukaryotes.

    Four Kingdom Classification

    • Copeland (1956) placed prokaryotes under a separate kingdom named Monera.

    Five Kingdom Classification

    • R.H. Whittaker (1969) classified organisms into five kingdoms—Monera, Protista, Plantae, Fungi and Animalia.

    Six Kingdom Classification

    • Carl Woese proposed the three domain system—Archae (Archaebacteria), Bacteria (Eubacteria), Eukarya (Plantae, Animalia, Protista, Fungi).
  • Classification of Kingdom Protista:
  • Classification of Kingdom Fungi:

  • Classification of Kingdom Monera:

  • Viruses are non-cellular organisms characterised by an inert crystalline structure outside the living cell.

  • Viroids are infectious RNA particles which lack a protein coat. 

  • Prions are infectious proteinaceous agents which lack genetic material.

  • Lichens are the symbiotic association between an alga (phycobiont) and a fungus (mycobiont).

Different classification systems proposed by scientists: