Request a call back

Join NOW to get access to exclusive study material for best results

IIT Full Form

IIT is undoubtedly one of the most prestigious Indian institutions. Almost everyone in India is aware that the IITs are the country's premier engineering and science institutions of higher learning. So this place is your best bet if you want to be a pioneer in innovation. But, do you know what is the IIT full form?

Let's begin with the following question.

What is the full form of IIT?

IIT full form is the Indian Institute of Technology. It has a glorious history as one of India's oldest educational institutions. Researchers regard it as the most innovative, providing an excellent framework for research. The IITs are held to a high standard in Indian society.

The Indian Government founded the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) to train future engineers and scientists. Each IIT has its board of directors and is autonomous, as required by the IIT Act of 1961. Following the establishment of the first institute, IIT Kharagpur. There are 23 IITs throughout the country; they are -

1.      IIT Kharagpur

2.      IIT Goa

3.      IIT Bombay

4.      IIT Bhubaneswar

5.      IIT Delhi

6.      IIT Dhanbad

7.      IIT Kanpur

8.      IIT Madras

9.      IIT Guwahati

10.   IIT Roorkee

11.   IIT Hyderabad

12.   IIT Patna

13.   IIT Ropar

14.   IIT Jodhpur

15.   IIT Gandhinagar

16.   IIT Tirupati

17.   IIT Mandi

18.   IIT Indore

19.   IIT (BHU) Varanasi

20.   IIT Jammu

21.   IIT Palakkad

22.   IIT Bhilai

23.   IIT Dharwad

What does the IIT full form in education mean? 

IIT has made significant contributions to the field of scientific research. Talented students are trained to devise novel solutions to complex problems at this institute. Several IIT scientists are now proposing new and innovative ideas in various fields. The Institute of Technology is known for producing some of India's most talented personalities, such as Sunder Pichai, Arvind Kejriwal, Raghuram Mohan, etc.

The IIT full form is the Indian Institutes of Technology. IITs are well-known for their undergraduate and postgraduate engineering programmes. The IITs offer courses in electrical and mechanical engineering, as well as civil engineering, in addition to computer science and engineering. On the other hand, some IITs offer degrees in design and business management in addition to engineering.

Many Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) have established incubation centres collaborating with other organisations to promote entrepreneurship in the country. Entrepreneurial Development Cells are located at IIT Kharagpur, IIT Bombay, IIT Kanpur, IIT Madras, IIT Delhi and Roorkee.

What are IIT JEE Exams 

As the IIT long-form is the Indian Institute of Technology, IIT JEE full form in English is the Indian Institute of Technology Joint Entrance Examination. This entrance test enables candidates to get admission to prestigious Indian engineering colleges such as the IITs and NITs. IIT JEE has proven to be an excellent choice for those interested in pursuing engineering careers.

The IIT JEE is divided into three phases: the Main, Advanced, and Architecture Aptitude Tests (AAT). All of these phases are described in the table below:-

Exam Type


JEE Mains

The first stage of the IIT JEE process is the Main Examination. The National Testing Agency (NTA) administers the exam online between January and April. However, the NTA conducts a risk-free inspection using a local area network (LAN) instead of using the Internet. The Mains results determine whether or not a candidate is eligible to move on to the Advanced stage.

JEE Advanced

The IIT JEE Advanced test is the exam's second stage. The advanced exam is more complicated than the regular exam. Additionally, there is no paper-and-pencil testing available for this exam.

JEE B. Arch

The exam is open to aspiring architects. If you pass the exam, you can study architecture at IITs. Those who have passed the JEE Main and Advanced exams are eligible to take the AAT. Only two Indian Institutes of Technology offer the JEE B Arch programme. The two institutes are IIT Kharagpur and IIT Roorkee.

Exam highlights

● There is no gender or age barrier to taking this exam.

● Students who completed their intermediate with physics, chemistry, and maths are or have a degree equivalent to 12 are eligible to take the exams.

● JEE mains is conducted twice a year; students can take this exam for three consecutive years.

● Only those candidates that clear JEE Mains can sit in JEE Advanced.


We hope you are now clear with the IIT's full form. IIT only accepts the brightest and most deserving candidates from tens of thousands of applicants. When students are offered a place to study at this institution, their academic abilities are immediately recognised. It helps individuals to nurture and live their dreams to their fullest.

Get Latest Study Material for Academic year 24-25 Click here