Please wait...
Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Study plan details

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

For Franchisee Enquiry



Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this number

9321924448 / 9987178554

Mon to Sat - 10 AM to 7 PM

CBSE: Three-language option to be extended till Class 10


CBSE: Three-language option to be extended till Class 10

Now, schools offering foreign languages like Mandarin and German will have to treat them as a fourth language.

By Admin 21st Dec, 2016 06:56 pm

Over 18,000 schools affiliated to the CBSE will have to implement the three-language formula up to Class 10. Currently, schools are meant to follow this up to Class 8.

Under the National Education Policy, the three-language formula means students in Hindi-speaking states should learn a modern Indian language, apart from Hindi and English and, in non-Hindi-speaking states, they should learn Hindi along with the regional language and English.

However, a majority of the 18,000 affiliated institutions offer the mother tongue or Hindi, English and a foreign language such as German and Mandarin up to Class VIII. Now, all schools will not only have to implement the three-language formula in letter and spirit, but also extend it up to Class 10. In non-Hindi speaking states, the second language will be English or Hindi and the third language will be English or a modern Indian language. In Hindi-speaking states, students can choose English and modern Indian languages as their second and third languages. The CBSE has also recommended that foreign languages be taught only as an elective.

A directive, with finer details and timing of implementation, will be issued to schools as soon as the move is ratified by the government. It’s not clear at this moment if the third language, which will be introduced in Class 9 and 10, will be tested in the Board exam.

MORE from Education

MHT-CET Result 2022

MHT-CET Result 2022

19th Sep, 2022 05:16 pm
NEET 2022 Results Declared!

NEET 2022 Results Declared!

08th Sep, 2022 10:22 am

Chat with us on WhatsApp