Request a call back

Join NOW to get access to exclusive study material for best results

US: Narayana Murthy receives 2012 Hoover Medal

Washington: Infosys founder NR Narayana Murthy has been conferred with the prestigious 2012 Hoover Medal in recognition of his philanthropic activities in India. Former US Presidents Herbert Hoover, Dwight Eisenhower and James Earl Carter are among some of the prominent recipients of this annual award established in 1930 to recognize great, unselfish and non-technical services by the engineers to humanity.

Murthy was awarded with the prestigious award on October 2 at the Global Humanitarian Technology Conference in Seattle. The 70th recipient of the award, Murthy was recognized for establishing a foundation that forges outstanding improvements in healthcare, social rehabilitation, rural uplift and education following his formation of Infosys, an innovative company that provides business consulting, technology, and engineering services in over 30 countries.

In 2008 the former Indian President, APJ Abdul Kalam, had received this award. The Hoover Medal is administered by a board representing five engineering organizations: The American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Get Latest Study Material for Academic year 24-25 Click here