Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Define inflorescence. On what basis are the two types of inflorescences identified? Explain the two types of inflorescences.

Asked by Topperlearning User 11th July 2014, 12:59 PM
Answered by Expert

The arrangement of flowers on the floral axis is called an inflorescence.

Based on whether the apex gets converted into a flower or it continues to grow, the two types of inflorescences are identified as racemose and cymose.

The two types of inflorescences are as follows:

1. Racemose inflorescence: The main axis grows and the flowers grow laterally in acropetal succession.

2. Cymose inflorescence: The main axis terminates in a flower. Flowers are borne in basipetal order. The main axis has limited growth.

Answered by Expert 11th July 2014, 2:59 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp