Please wait...
Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Study plan details

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

For Franchisee Enquiry



Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this number

9321924448 / 9987178554

Mon to Sat - 10 AM to 7 PM

All You Need to Know About Chartered Accountancy


All You Need to Know About Chartered Accountancy

Read on to know the various dynamics of Chartered Accountancy.

By Tejal Mistry 20th May, 2016 06:23 pm

The Common Proficiency Test (CPT) is an entry-level examination for Chartered Accountancy (CA). Students who aspire to become a chartered accountant (CA) have to go through three different levels of CA-CPT.

The first step is registering for CA-CPT with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI). You will receive four textbooks (one for each subject), two mock test books and 30 model papers. The ICAI study material is your best source of knowledge to study for the exam. Remember that you need to concentrate on all the subjects and will have to score at least 30% in all subjects.

Eligibility Criteria:

You must have passed 10+2 examination or equivalent from a recognised institution.

Make sure you register for CPT with the Board of Studies of ICAI.

Number of Examinations:

CA consists of 3 levels of examination and three years of practical training under a practising CA. CPT, on the other hand, is conducted twice a year (June and December), Integrated Professional Competence Course (IPCC) and CA final exams are held during May and November.

IPCC is the second level of CA examinations. A person can only take IPCC after passing CPT and nine months of study.

The CA final examination is the last and final level of the CA examinations. 

CPT (CA Foundation) Syllabus:

The CPT has four papers and the examination will be conducted for 200 marks in the objective manner. To qualify for the exam, students will have to secure at least 100 marks, , i.e. 50% marks in the exam. For every wrong answer, 0.25 marks will be deducted.

Section A: Fundamentals of Accounting – 60 marks

Section B: Mercantile Laws – 40 marks

Section C: General Economics – 50 marks

Section D: Quantitative Aptitude – 50 marks

CA Intermediate Syllabus:

Paper I: Accounting – 100 marks

Paper II: Corporate Laws and Other Laws – 100 marks

Paper III: Cost Accounting – 100 marks

Paper IV: Direct Tax Laws and Indirect Tax Laws – 100 marks

Paper V: Advanced Accounting – 100 marks

Paper VI: Auditing and Assurance – 100 marks

Paper VII: Financial Management and Business Economic Environment – 100 marks

Paper VIII: Information Technology and Strategic Management – 100 marks

CA Final Examination Syllabus:

Paper I: Financial Reporting – 100 marks

Paper II: Strategic Financial Management – 100 marks

Paper III: Advanced Auditing and Professional Ethics – 100 marks

Paper IV: Corporate Laws and Other Economic Laws – 100 marks

Paper V: Advanced Management Accounting – 100 marks

Paper VI: Financial Services and Capital Markets and Information Systems Control and Audit – 100 marks

Paper VII: Advanced Tax Laws and International Taxation – 100 marks

Paper VIII: Advanced Indirect Tax Laws – 100 marks

Chat with us on WhatsApp