system of government in srilanka and Belgium

Asked by rashisharma49.10dgatl | 20th Aug, 2021, 07:55: PM

Expert Answer:

The government in Belgium divided the powers equally between Dutch and French speaking populations. It was decided that equal representation should be given to the French- and Dutch-speaking population. Thus, there were equal numbers of ministers belonging to both communities in the Central Government. In Brussels, where the French were in majority, both communities were given equal representation, as the Dutch had agreed to equal representation at the centre despite them being in majority. THus, in Belgium power was divided equally between the Dutch and French speaking populations. 
Sri Lanka became independent of colonial rule in 1948. There were two major communities—Sinhalese and Tamilians. The Sinhalese were in majority and hence they followed majoritarian policies. Sinhala was recognised as the only official language of the country. Preferential positions in government jobs were given to the Sinhalese. All these measures led to dissent among the Tamilian community which finally culminated into a civil war, with the Tamilians demanding the formation of an independent Tamil state in the northern and eastern parts of Sri Lanka. Thousands of people were killed in the civil war.
In Belgium, the government respected the interests of both linguistic groups and avoided any possibilities of clashes among the Dutch- and French-speaking communities. In Sri Lanka, however, the assertive policies of the majority community led to a civil war threatening the unity and integrity of the country.

Answered by Social Science Expert | 21st Aug, 2021, 08:37: AM