Fri October 12, 2012 By:

What do the following literally mean 1. Monera 2.Protista 3.Phylum 4.chordata

Expert Reply
Mon October 15, 2012
Biologist Robert Whittaker proposed the five kingdom classification, which consists of the following five kingdoms:
  • Monera
  • Protista
  • Fungi
  • Plantae and
  • Animalia
Kingdom Monera includes all prokaryotic organisms.  These organisms do not have a defined nucleus or organelles, nor do any of them show multi-cellular body designs. Example - bacteria and blue-green algae. So Monera is a taxonomic kingdom of prokaryotic organisms that typically reproduce by asexual budding or fission and have a nutritional mode of absorption, photosynthesis, or chemosynthesis.
Protista is a kingdom comprising a diverse group of unicellular eukaryotic organisms. Example - protozoa, slime molds, diatoms and eukaryotic algae. Some of these organisms use appendages, such as hair-like cilia or whip-like flagella for moving around. Their mode of nutrition can be autotrophic or heterotrophic.
Phylum is a principal taxonomic category that ranks above class and below kingdom. It includes organisms belonging to different classes but sharing certain common characters.
Chordata  is a large phylum of animals that are distinguished by the possession of a notochord at some stage during their development. Example – All vertebrates, sea squirts and lancelets. In addition to notochord, the chordates show a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeal slits and a post-anal tail.
Home Work Help