Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Write a short note on the composition of the Security Council.

Asked by Topperlearning User 7th April 2015, 1:02 PM
Answered by Expert

The Security Council consists of 15 members. It had 5 permanent members - Russia, USA, UK, France and China. The regional representation of the ten non-permanent members is:

  1. Afro-Asian countries - 5
  2. Latin American countries - 2
  3. West European and other countries - 2
  4. East European countries - 1

The ten non-permanent members of the Security Council are elected by the United Nations General Assembly by a two-third majority for a term of two years. A retiring non-permanent member is not eligible for immediate re-election to the Security Council. The Presidency of the Council is rotated on a monthly basis, according to the English alphabetical listing of the  member states of the Council.

Answered by Expert 7th April 2015, 3:02 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp