Request a call back

Join NOW to get access to exclusive study material for best results

Class 6 NCERT Solutions Geography Chapter 5 - Major Domains of the Earth

Major Domains of the Earth Exercise 37

Solution 1

(a) The four major domains of the Earth are:

  1. Lithosphere
  2. Atmosphere
  3. Hydrosphere
  4. Biosphere

(b) The major continents of the Earth are:

  • Africa
  • Antarctica
  • Asia 
  • Australia
  • Europe
  • North America
  • South America

(c) Australia and Antarctica are the two continents that lie entirely in the Southern Hemisphere.

(d) The different layers of atmosphere are:

  • Troposphere
  • Stratosphere
  • Mesosphere
  • Thermosphere
  • Exosphere

(e) The Earth is the only planet that has water. More than 71% of its surface is covered with water. This makes the Earth look blue from space. Therefore, it is called the 'blue planet'.

(f) The Northern Hemisphere is called the Land Hemisphere because the greater part of Earth's land mass (approx. 70% of the total area) lies in the Northern Hemisphere.

(g) Biosphere is a narrow zone of contact between the land, water and air. It is of great significance for living organisms because it is the only zone where all the living things such as humans, plants and animals can exist.

Major Domains of the Earth Exercise 38

Solution 2

Solution 3

(a) The deepest point on the earth is Mariana Trench in the Pacific Ocean.

(b) The Indian Ocean is named after a country.

(c) The biosphere is a narrow contact of land, water and air that supports life.

(d) The continents of Europe and Asia together are known as Eurasia.

(e) The highest mountain peak on the earth is Mount Everest.

Solution 4

Get Latest Study Material for Academic year 24-25 Click here