Request a call back

Join NOW to get access to exclusive study material for best results

Classification of Plants

Classification of Plants Synopsis


Classification of Kingdom Plantae

  • Kingdom Plantae is classified into five major divisions: Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnosperms and Angiosperms.
  • Plants are classified into these divisions based on:
    • Whether the plant body has well differentiated distinct components.
    • Whether the differentiated plant body has special tissues for the transport of water and substances.
    • Ability to bear seeds and whether the seeds are enclosed within fruits.

  • The thallophytes, bryophytes and pteridophytes have naked embryos called spores. 
  • The reproductive organs of plants in all these three groups are very inconspicuous, and they are therefore called cryptogams or ‘those with hidden reproductive organs. 

Classification of Cryptogams