Wed October 26, 2011 By:

what is mitosis and meosis ?

Expert Reply
Thu October 27, 2011
Mitosis is an equational division, wherein the somatic cells divide to form two daughter cells, each with the same diploid chromosome complement as the parent cell. Meiosis occurs in 4 stages i.e. Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase and Telophase.
Meiosis is a reduction division in which each germ cell divides to form four daughter cells, each with haploid chromosome complement. Meiosis results in the formation of gametes.
The process of meiosis essentially involves two cycles of division. These can be subdivided into four distinct phases which are a continuous process.
i) First meiotic Division : These includes 4 stages:
  • Prophase I
  • Metaphase I 
  • Anaphase I
  • Telophase I

ii) Second Meiotic Division : This includes the following steps:

  • Prophase II
  • Metaphase II 
  • Anaphase II  
  • Telophase II
Home Work Help