16th of September 2015
Social Studies

please explain any three forms of power sharing among different organs of government in India.This question was asked in my model exams.

Sunil Kumar Ayyappan Santhamma - Junior - Class VI

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 at 18:25:PM


Hello Sunil,

In a democracy, power is shared among different organs of government i.e. the legislature, executive and judiciary, which is referred to as horizontal distribution of power. This distribution allows different organs of government placed at the same level to exercise different powers. Such distribution of power makes sure that none of the three organs can exercise unlimited power. Each organ has a right to check the other organ. This results in a balance of power among various institutions. Moreover, even though ministers and government officials exercise power, they have a responsibility towards the Parliament or State Assemblies. Similarly, although judges are appointed by the executive, they can check the functioning of executive or laws made by the legislatures. This arrangement is called a system of checks and balances.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 at 18:52:PM