Thu September 29, 2011 By:

What is point diversity, alpha diversity, gamma diversity, and episilon diversity?Give easy examples for each?

Expert Reply
Thu October 06, 2011
These are four levels of diversity given by Whittaker.
Point diversity - It refres to diversity on the smallest scale such as the diversity of microhabitat or sample taken from within a homogenous habitat. For example - A leaf or a flower.
Alpha diversity refers to the variety of organisms occurring in a particular habitat. Example - A single plant.
Gamma diversity - This refers to diversity of a larger unit such as a landscape or island. It can also be defined as overall diversity of a group of areas of alpha diversity. Example - A group of plants occurring together.
Epsilon diversity applies to large biogeographic areas. It includes diversity of a group of areas of gamma diversity. Example - The forest within which the plants are located.
Home Work Help