Mon December 12, 2011 By: Ruchi Soni

what are transition series?

Expert Reply
Mon December 12, 2011

The Transition metals are the elements found between the Group IIA elements and the Group IIB elements which include groups 3 to 12 on the periodic table. A transition series of elements is formed during the change of an inner layer of electrons (for example n=3 in the 4th row of the periodic table) from a stable group of 8 to one of 18, or from 18 to 32.

There are four transition series:

  1. The first transition series: Scandium (Sc) through Copper (Cu): 3d sub shell is filling.
  2. The second transition series: Yttrium (Y) through Silver (Ag): 4d sub shell is filling.
  3. The third transition series: Lanthanum (La) to Hafnium (Hf) through Gold (Au)): 5d sub shell is filling.
  4. The forth transition series is incomplete: Actinium (Ac) to element 104 through element 109: 6d sub shell is filling; if elements 110 and 111 are found then this will complete this series.
Related Questions
Thu October 12, 2017

Periodic law test question

Home Work Help