Tue March 29, 2011 By:

What are the names of the three layers(meninges)of the brain?why is the fluid between these three layers known as cerebrospinal fluid?

Expert Reply
Tue March 29, 2011
Dear Student,

The brain is made of three main parts: the forebrain, midbrain, and hindbrain. The forebrain consists of the cerebrum, thalamus, and hypothalamus (part of the limbic system). The midbrain consists of the tectum and tegmentum. The hindbrain is made of the cerebellum, pons and medulla. Often the midbrain, pons, and medulla are referred to together as the brainstem.

The cerebrospinal fluid is located between the brain and skull. It has 2 important benefits to the central nervous system:

  1. circulation
    • the cerbrospinal fluid delivers nutrients to the structures of the nervous system
    • the cerebrospinal fluid removes wastes from the brain and spinal cord, detoxifying the environment of the nervous system
  2. shock absorption
    • the cerbrospinal fluid protects the brain and spinal cord from trauma brought upon by movement, falls, blows, etc.


We hope that clarifies your query.




Home Work Help