Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

what are transition series?

Asked by kunalxi 12th December 2011, 12:00 AM
Answered by Expert

The Transition metals are the elements found between the Group IIA elements and the Group IIB elements which include groups 3 to 12 on the periodic table. A transition series of elements is formed during the change of an inner layer of electrons (for example n=3 in the 4th row of the periodic table) from a stable group of 8 to one of 18, or from 18 to 32.

There are four transition series:

  1. The first transition series: Scandium (Sc) through Copper (Cu): 3d sub shell is filling.
  2. The second transition series: Yttrium (Y) through Silver (Ag): 4d sub shell is filling.
  3. The third transition series: Lanthanum (La) to Hafnium (Hf) through Gold (Au)): 5d sub shell is filling.
  4. The forth transition series is incomplete: Actinium (Ac) to element 104 through element 109: 6d sub shell is filling; if elements 110 and 111 are found then this will complete this series.
Answered by Expert 12th December 2011, 5:07 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Free related questions

13th February 2017, 10:51 AM
15th February 2017, 11:31 AM
10th March 2017, 12:30 PM

Chat with us on WhatsApp