Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

The Constitution provides for a Council of Ministers. In this context answer the following questions:

  1. Various categories of Ministers.
  2. What do they swear under the Oath of Office and Secrecy?
  3. Term of Office.

Asked by Topperlearning User 2nd May 2016, 8:50 AM
Answered by Expert
  1. Various categories of ministers: There are three categories of ministers:
    1. Cabinet Ministers: They are the first and most important leaders of the Council of Ministers. They hold important portfolios which include Home, Defence, Finance, External Affairs and Railways and decide major policies and programmes of the government. They are the only ones who have the right to attend the meetings of the Cabinet.
    2. Ministers of State: They are the second category of ministers but not the members of the Cabinet. They may or may not hold portfolios. Neither the Prime Minister consults them nor do they attend meetings unless specially invited when matters related to their departments are considered.
    3. Deputy Ministers: They are the third category of ministers. Their main charge is to assist the senior ministers (Cabinet Ministers and Council of Ministers) with which they are associated. They are not assigned with independent charge of a ministry and therefore take no part in cabinet deliberations.
  2. Before entering upon office, every minister takes the Oath of Office and Secrecy. In the Oath of Office, a minister swears to
    1. Bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India
    2. Uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India
    3. Faithfully and dutifully discharge duties without fear or favour, action or ill-will
  3. The Constitution states that the ministers shall hold their office during the pleasure of the President. The Prime Minister and Council of Ministers are directly responsible to the Lok Sabha and can remain in office as long as they enjoy the majority support of the Lok Sabha. If the Lok Sabha losses confidence in them by passing a Vote of No-Confidence, they have to collectively resign.
Answered by Expert 2nd May 2016, 10:50 AM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp