Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Junior - VI - Social Studies

please explain any three forms of power sharing among different organs of government in India.This question was asked in my model exams.

Asked by sunil2791 16th September 2015, 6:25 PM
Answered by Expert


Hello Sunil,

In a democracy, power is shared among different organs of government i.e. the legislature, executive and judiciary, which is referred to as horizontal distribution of power. This distribution allows different organs of government placed at the same level to exercise different powers. Such distribution of power makes sure that none of the three organs can exercise unlimited power. Each organ has a right to check the other organ. This results in a balance of power among various institutions. Moreover, even though ministers and government officials exercise power, they have a responsibility towards the Parliament or State Assemblies. Similarly, although judges are appointed by the executive, they can check the functioning of executive or laws made by the legislatures. This arrangement is called a system of checks and balances.

Answered by Expert 16th September 2015, 6:52 PM

Rate this answer

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Report an issue
Your answer has been posted successfully!