Please wait...
Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Enquiry

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

Business Inquiry (North)

Business Inquiry (West / East / South)



Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this number


Mon to Sat - 10 AM to 7 PM

explain the different trophic levels of a food chain

Asked by nathsantanukumar 27th April 2018, 9:58 PM
Answered by Expert

In a food chain, trophic levels are defined as the number of steps that are followed by one another in the process of energy flow and are also dependent on each other for food. Different trophic levels are as follows-

i. Producers (Trophic Level-1)- They form the first trophic level and are able to manufacture their own food (green plants).

ii. Primary consumers (Trophic Level -2)- They form the second trophic level and are generally plant eaters (herbivores).

iii. Secondary consumers (Trophic level-3)- They form the third trophic level and are flesh eaters. (carnivores).

iv. Tertiary consumers (Trophic Level-4)- They form the fourth trophic level and feed on secondary consumers.

Answered by Expert 28th April 2018, 12:13 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Free related questions

15th March 2018, 9:32 AM
29th April 2018, 11:19 AM
1st May 2018, 11:06 AM

Chat with us on WhatsApp