Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Explain any three provisions of the Indian Independence Act.

Asked by Topperlearning User 7th April 2015, 3:45 PM
Answered by Expert

Following are three important provisions of the Indian Independence Act:

Two New Dominions: Indian would be partitioned and two new Dominions - India and Pakistan - would be created on August 15, 1947. The Act established the legislative supremacy of both the Dominions. Pakistan would comprise of Sindh, British Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province, West Punjab and East Bengal. On the other hand, India would consist of the remaining territories of British India. The exact boundaries of the Dominion would be decided by the Boundary Commission.

Provisions of Partition:

  1. Bengal and Punjab would be divided if felt necessary. The Provincial Assemblies of the two parts would meet separately, representing Hindu majority districts and Muslim majority districts. These would vote on the division resolution.
  2. A plebiscite would be organised in the North West Frontier Province (NWFP) andthe Sylhet district in East Bengal to establish whether they would like to join Pakistan or India.

Governor General for Each Dominion: There would be a Governor-General appointed by the British monarch on the advice of the Cabinet of the concerned Dominion. This arrangement would be effective only until the framing of the Constitution of the said Dominion.

Answered by Expert 7th April 2015, 5:45 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp