Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Differentiate between evergreen forests and deciduous forests.

Asked by Topperlearning User 25th May 2015, 1:36 PM
Answered by Expert


Tropical evergreen forests

Deciduous forests

Tropical evergreen forests are found in the regions which receive more than 200 cm of rainfall.

Deciduous forests are found in the regions which receive rainfall between 70-200cm.

The trees of the tropical evergreen forests do not shed their leaves at the same time as there is no particular season for shedding their leaves.

The trees of the deciduous forests shed their leaves for about six to eight months during the dry season.

The tropical evergreen forests are dense.

These forests are less dense.

These forests are found in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep Islands, upper parts of Assam and Tamil Nadu and on the western slopes of the Western Ghats.

These forests are found in North-eastern states, parts of Central India, West Orissa and Chhattisgarh.

Some of the species of the trees are ebony, mahagony, rosewood and rubber.

Some of the species of the trees are sandalwood, teak and sal.

Answered by Expert 25th May 2015, 3:36 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp