Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Describe three major divisions of the Himalayas running from north to south.

Asked by Topperlearning User 29th January 2016, 12:05 PM
Answered by Expert

The following are the three major divisions of the Himalayas running from north to south:

The Himadri: It is the northern most range of the young Himalayan mountains. It contains most of the highest peaks like Mt Everest, Kanchenjunga etc.

The Himachal: It is also known as the lesser Himalayas. This range lies to the south of the Himadri. Almost all the hill stations such as Shimla, Nainital and Manali are located along this range.

The Siwaliks: This is the outermost range of the Himalayas. These ranges are made up of the sediments which are brought down from the rivers flowing from the northern Himalayan ranges. The valleys which separate the lesser Himalayas and the Siwaliks are called Duns or Doons, like Dehra Dun, Patli Dun and Kotli Dun.

Answered by Expert 29th January 2016, 2:05 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer 10/10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp