Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Describe the different regions of the root.

Asked by Topperlearning User 11th July 2014, 1:15 PM
Answered by Expert

The different regions of the root are as follows:

1. Root cap:

It covers the apex of roots which grow through the soil.

2. Region of Meristematic Activity:

This region is a few millimetres above the root cap.

The cells are thin-walled and small with dense protoplasm. The cells divide repeatedly.

3. Region of Elongation:

This region is proximal to the region of meristematic activity.

The cells in this region undergo rapid elongation and enlargement.

This zone is responsible for the growth in length of the root.

These cells gradually differentiate and mature.

4. Zone of Maturation:

The zone of maturation is proximal to the zone of elongation.

Its epidermal cells give rise to root hair cells which absorb water from the soil.

Answered by Expert 11th July 2014, 3:15 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp