Please wait...
Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Study plan details

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

Franchisee/Partner Enquiry (North)

Franchisee/Partner Enquiry (South)

Franchisee/Partner Enquiry (West & East)



Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this number


Mon to Sat - 10 AM to 7 PM

correct order of sedimentation of subcellular structure during differential configuration among lysosome, mitochondria, nucleus, ribosomes 

Asked by amitjena226 29th November 2017, 4:56 PM
Answered by Expert

The method of differential centrifugation is based on the principle that the cell components separate on the basis of the size and density. Under a given centrifugal force, particles that are relatively large or dense will sediment more rapidly than particles that are smaller and lighter. With respect to the major components found in cells, the order of sedimentation is typically (from most to least dense): nuclei, mitochondria, lysosomes, plasma membrane, endoplasmic reticulum, and contractile vacuoles. Depending on the specific cell type, however, this order can vary. 

So, the correct order of sedimentation is Nucleus → Mitochondria → Lysosome → Ribosome

Answered by Expert 29th November 2017, 5:18 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp