Please wait...
1800-212-7858 (Toll Free)
9:00am - 8:00pm IST all days
For Business Enquiry


Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this toll free number


Mon to Sat - 11 AM to 8 PM

Can you please explain me five kingdom of classification ??

Asked by Pranay 14th March 2017, 1:52 PM
Answered by Expert

The Five-kingdom Classification proposed by Whittaker is the most widely used classification system. According to this system, based on their cell structure, mode of nutrition and body organisation, organisms are divided into five kingdoms:

  • Kingdom Monera
  • Kingdom Protista
  • Kingdom Fungi
  • Kingdom Plantae
  • Kingdom Animalia






  • Organisms have a prokaryotic cell structure.
  • The cell lacks a distinct nucleus.

Bacteria, Cyanobacteria, Mycoplasma



  • Contain a well-defined nucleus.
  • Nuclear materials are organised in the form of a linear, double-stranded and helical DNA along with proteins.

Chlamydomonas, Euglena, Amoeba



  • Possess a true nucleus and a definite cell wall, which is composed of chitin.

Mucor, Rhizopus, Puccinia 



  • Cell is bound by a cell wall, which is made of cellulose.
  • Contains a true nucleus and membrane-bound cell organelles.

Algae, mosses, ferns


  • Lack cell wall and plastid.

Earthworm, Sycon, beetle

Answered by Expert 14th March 2017, 2:01 PM
Rate this answer
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

You have rated this answer /10

Your answer has been posted successfully!

Chat with us on WhatsApp