Please wait...
Contact Us
Need assistance? Contact us on below numbers

For Study plan details

10:00 AM to 7:00 PM IST all days.

For Franchisee Enquiry



Thanks, You will receive a call shortly.
Customer Support

You are very important to us

For any content/service related issues please contact on this number

9321924448 / 9987178554

Mon to Sat - 10 AM to 7 PM

Maharashtra State Board to modify no-detention policy for Class VIII and IX

News Updates

Maharashtra State Board to modify no-detention policy for Class VIII and IX

Students who fail in Class five and eight to be given remedial coaching.

By Admin 19th Oct, 2016 06:07 pm

Ever since the no-detention policy under the Right to Education (RTE) Act came into being, it was observed by Education Minister Vinod Tawde that students were no longer serious about exams because they knew even if they failed they would be promoted to the next class.

While the Minister has no plans to terminate the policy, he has proposed a minor change in it. Students who fail in Class V and VIII will be detained and will be given remedial coaching.

Vinod stated, “If this is not done then after Class VIII, we see that students cannot cope with studies in Class nine and 10. Those students who fail in Class five and eight should not be promoted to next class and the schools must provide them help in the form of remedial coaching. Only after ensuring that the student is capable to cope with the next level, he/she should be promoted to the next class. The no-detention policy can be as it is for other classes.”

The no-detention policy was introduced on April 1, 2010 under the RTE Act. Its aim was to provide free and compulsory education to every child between the age of six and 14.

This was done as failing was one of the reasons for high dropout rates in primary schools, especially among underprivileged children. However, the no-detention policy ended up affecting the quality of education. The modification aims to improve the learning levels of students at major milestones in school education – Class V, the stage where a student starts secondary education, and Class VIII, after which preparation for board exams begins.

Chat with us on WhatsApp