write a short note on treaty of vienna

Asked by Natarajusha97 | 3rd Jan, 2015, 06:39: PM

Expert Answer:

In 1815, the representatives of the European powers - Britain, Russia,Prussia and Austria wanted to establish long-lasting peace and stability after they defeated Napolean.
Thus, they drew up the Treaty of Vienna of 1815 with the intenstion of undoing most of the changes brought about during the Napoleonic wars and creating a new conservative order in Europe.
  • The Bourbon dynasty was brought back to power and France lost the territories it had annexed under Napoleon.  
  • To prevent the French evasion, a series of states werre set up on the boundaries of France.
  • This lead to the setting up of kingdom of the Netherlands (inclusive of Belgium) in the north and the kingdom of Genoa (added to Piedmont) in the south.
  • Prussia was given important new territories on its western frontiers, while Austria was given control of northern Italy.
  • However, Napolean's German confederation of 39 states was left untouched.
  • In the east, Russia was given part of Poland while Prussia was given a portion of Saxony. 

Answered by Akanksha Kaul | 5th Jan, 2015, 01:30: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.