write a note on powersharing in srilanka.

Asked by Harshitha Batta | 13th May, 2015, 10:43: AM

Expert Answer:

  • Sri Lanka, an island country, became independent State in 1948.
  • It had two major communities, the Sinhalese (74 per cent) and the Tamilians (18 per cent). As the Sinhalese were in majority they elected themselves to power.
  • The Sinhalese leaders then followed a series of majoritarian policies in order to ascertain the supremacy of their community.
  • An act was passed in 1956 that recognised Sinhala language as the only official language of the country.
  • Also, preferential positions in government jobs were given to the Sinhalese.
  • All these factors led to dissent among the Tamilian community. They felt that the constitution and government policies denied them equal political rights, discriminated them in matters of gettign jobs and other oppurtunities and also ignored thier interests.
  • This strained the relations between the Sinhala and Tamil communities, which finally culminated into a civil war.
  • The Tamilians demanded the formation of independent Tamil state in northern and eastern parts of Sri Lanka.
  • This led to thousands of people being killed in the civil war.
  • Thus, in Sri Lanka, the assertive policies of the majority community threatened the unity and integrity of the country.

Answered by Akanksha Kaul | 13th May, 2015, 05:22: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.