which clock maintain the indian standard time?

Asked by garimasingh | 4th Oct, 2009, 06:08: AM

Expert Answer:

Indian Standard Time is calculated on the basis of 82.5° E longitude, which is just west of the town of Mirzapur, near Allahabad in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The longitude difference between Mirzapur and the United Kingdom's Royal Observatory at Greenwich translates to an exact time difference of 5 hours 30 minutes. Local time is calculated from a clock tower at the Allahabad Observatory though the official time-keeping devices are entrusted to the National Physical Laboratory, in New Delhi, India.





Answered by  | 5th Oct, 2009, 10:05: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.