What is the composition of rainbow ?


Asked by Anush | 22nd Aug, 2018, 09:31: PM

Expert Answer:

- The rainbow consists of 7 bands of colors, namely, Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange and Red.
- Sun is the only source of light for the Earth.
- It emitts white light.
- A rainbow is caused when the white light of the Sun which is directed towards the Earth, passes through the water vapours or the raindrops and splits into 7 different colors.
- The splitting of light after passing through an obstruction like a raindrop is called refraction.

Answered by Abhijeet Mishra | 23rd Aug, 2018, 11:36: AM