what is phylum arthopoda?

Asked by gaurierawat | 2nd Mar, 2019, 06:56: PM

Expert Answer:

Phylum Arthropoda is the largest phylum in the animal kingdom, which includes lobsters, crabs, spiders, mites, insects, centipedes, and millipedes. 

The different classes of phylum Arthropoda include Crustacea, Myriapoda, Arachnida and Insecta.

Thye characteristics icludes:

i. Their body is divided into head, thorax and abdomen.

ii. Appendages are jointed.

iii. They are triploblastic, bilaterally symmetrical organisms having a reduced body cavity.

iv. Members of Phylum Arthropoda have a complete digestive system and an open circulatory system.

v. In Arthropods, respiration takes place via the body surface, gills, trachea or book lungs.

vi. They have paired excretory glands and some have excretory organs called malpighian tubules.

Answered by Sivanand Patnaik | 2nd Mar, 2019, 08:16: PM