What does the "first series","second series" and "A", "B" stand for in the Mendeleev's periodic table?

Asked by Isha B | 25th Jan, 2014, 12:42: PM

Expert Answer:

Hi Isha, Mendeleev's periodic table contains eight vertical columns of elements called 'groups' and seven horizontal rows called 'periods', Each group has two sub-groups A and B. The properties of elements of a sub-group resemble each other more markedly than the properties of those between the elements of the two sub-groups. First series and second series are periods.

Answered by  | 30th Jan, 2014, 05:13: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.