What do the following literally mean 1. Monera 2.Protista 3.Phylum 4.chordata

Asked by  | 12th Oct, 2012, 05:58: PM

Expert Answer:

Biologist Robert Whittaker proposed the five kingdom classification, which consists of the following five kingdoms:
  • Monera
  • Protista
  • Fungi
  • Plantae and
  • Animalia
Kingdom Monera includes all prokaryotic organisms.  These organisms do not have a defined nucleus or organelles, nor do any of them show multi-cellular body designs. Example - bacteria and blue-green algae. So Monera is a taxonomic kingdom of prokaryotic organisms that typically reproduce by asexual budding or fission and have a nutritional mode of absorption, photosynthesis, or chemosynthesis.
Protista is a kingdom comprising a diverse group of unicellular eukaryotic organisms. Example - protozoa, slime molds, diatoms and eukaryotic algae. Some of these organisms use appendages, such as hair-like cilia or whip-like flagella for moving around. Their mode of nutrition can be autotrophic or heterotrophic.
Phylum is a principal taxonomic category that ranks above class and below kingdom. It includes organisms belonging to different classes but sharing certain common characters.
Chordata  is a large phylum of animals that are distinguished by the possession of a notochord at some stage during their development. Example – All vertebrates, sea squirts and lancelets. In addition to notochord, the chordates show a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeal slits and a post-anal tail.

Answered by  | 15th Oct, 2012, 08:18: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.