what are themajor divisions in the plantae? what is the basis for these divisions?

Asked by  | 30th Jun, 2008, 10:27: AM

Expert Answer:

The major divisions are: Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnospermae and Angiospermae.

The first level is based on whether or not the plant body has well differentiated, distinct body parts.

Plants not having differentiated body fall in the division Thallophyta. Plants having well-differentiated body parts are classified further based on whether the differentiated plant body has specialized vascular tissues, i.e. xylem and phloem, for the transport of water and other substances within it. Differentiated plants without vascular tissues are included in division Bryophyta whereas the differentiated plants with vascular tissues are grouped under Pteridophytes.


The further classification is done on the basis of the ability to bear seeds and whether the seeds are enclosed within fruits. The well differentiated plants with vascular tissues are further divided into two categories, those which do not produce seeds and those which produce seeds. Pteridophytes do not produce seeds. On the other hand, plants which do produce seeds come under the category of Phanerogams.



Answered by  | 30th Jun, 2008, 10:43: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.