what are the classifications of rbc and wbc?

Asked by maktanvi | 5th Aug, 2015, 06:55: PM

Expert Answer:

Classification of WBCs:

Categories of WBCs 

Types of WBCs 

Distinguishing Features


Location Produced

A. Granular

  • Cytoplasm contains granules
  • Nucleus usually constricted into lobes

Neutrophils (62%)

  • Nucleus with 3–4 lobes
  • Granular cytoplasm
  • Stain with neutral dyes

Destroy bacteria by phagocytosis

Bone marrow


Eosinophils (2.3%)

  • Nucleus with 2 lobes
  • Large cytoplasmic granules
  • Stain dark red with eosin (acid dye)
  • Destroy bacteria
  • Secrete antitoxins
  • Associated with allergy

Bone marrow


Basophils (0.4%)

  • Nucleus large, indistinctly lobed
  • Granules stain with basic dyes (methylene blue)

Release chemicals (histamine) for inflammation which dilates blood vessels

Bone marrow

B. Agranular

  • Cytoplasm does not contain granules
  • Nucleus usually constricted into lobes

Lymphocytes (30%)

  • Smallest of WBCs
  • Single large nucleus

Produce antibodies

Bone marrow, spleen, tonsils

Monocytes (5.3%)

  • Nucleus large, kidney shaped
  • At the site of infection, transform into macrophages

Ingest germs

Bone marrow

Classification of RBCs:

Red blood cells or RBCs are minute, disc-like structures. They are flat in the centre and thick and rounded at the periphery. There is no further classification of RBCs based on function. However, sometimes, abnormally shaped RBCs called poikilocytes are found in the blood.

Based on their shape and characteristics, the abnormally shaped RBCs are of the following types:

  • Acanthocytes or spur/spike cells
  • Codocytes or target cells
  • Echinocytes and burr cells
  • Elliptocytes
  • Spherocytes
  • Stomatocytes or mouth cells
  • Drepanocytes or sickle cells
  • Degmacytes or bite cells
  • Dacrocytes or teardrop cells
  • Keratocytes
  • Microspherocytes
  • Schistocytes 

Answered by Sheetal Kolte | 6th Aug, 2015, 10:16: AM