what are the classification of oligosaccharides?

Asked by gautam | 13th Aug, 2014, 08:11: PM

Expert Answer:

Oligosachharides contain 2 to 9 monosaccharides.
Oligosaccharides are basically classsified as disaccharides, trisaccharides, tetrasaccharides, pentasachharides and so on depending upon the number of monosaccharides present in the sugar.
Fructo-oligosaccharides and inulin oligosaccharides consist of short chains of fructose molecules, while galacto-oligosaccharides consist of short chains of galactose molecules. All three types of oligosaccharides occur naturally.

Answered by Ravi | 14th Aug, 2014, 10:50: AM