Q.7 Describe the three-fold distribution of legislative powers between the union govt. and state govt.

Asked by debaratib24 | 7th Jul, 2015, 01:31: AM

Expert Answer:

As per Article 264 of the Indian Constitution, there is threefold distribution of legislative powers between the union and state government. It consists of three lists:

Union List: It consists of subjects that concern national importance. This list includes subjects or items such as defence of the country, foreign affairs, banking, communications and currency. The list includes the following items because of a need for uniform policy on these matters throughout the country. The laws relating to the subjects mentioned in the list can be framed only the Parliament of India.

State List: It contains subjects of State and local importance. The list includes items or entries like the law and order, police, jails, public health, education, agriculture, local-self government, hospitals, justice, forests, revenue and unemployment etc. Only the State Government alone has the authority to make laws relating to the subjects mentioned in the State list.

Concurrent List: It includes subjects that are of common interest to both the Union Government as well as the State Governments. It includes items such as the marriage, divorce, criminal law, civil procedure, newspapers, books and printing press, etc.  Both the Union as well as the State Governments can make laws on the subjects mentioned in this list. If ever their laws conflict with each other, the law made by the Union Government will prevail.

Answered by Akanksha Kaul | 7th Jul, 2015, 05:41: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.