Please tell

Asked by  | 22nd Dec, 2008, 09:25: PM

Expert Answer:

The major digestive glands are

1) Salivary glands - This gland produces saliva which contains the enzyme amalyse. Amalyse is concerned with the breaking down of starch.

2) Liver - Liver is the largest gland and it is in contact with the stomach. The secretion of liver is called the bile, the function of which is emulsification of fats and prevention of putrefaction of food. In addition, liver performs various other functions such as storage and regulation of glucose, detoxification etc.

3) Pancreas - This gland is situated between the stomach and duodenum and secretes pancreatic juice. This juice contains enzymes acting on all types of food materials. The pancreatic juice contains enzymes like trypsin for digesting proteins into proteoses and peptones, chymotrypsin which converts peptones and proteoses into polypeptides, amylase which acts on starch and lipase which acts on emulsified fats. Lipase converts the fats into fatty acids and glycerol.

4) Intestinal glands - The walls of the small intestine contain glands which secrete intestinal juice. The enzymes present in it finally convert the proteins to amino acids, complex carbohydrates into glucose and fats into fatty acids and glycerol.

5) Gastric glands -  These are present in the wall of the stomach. They release HCl, pepsin and mucus. HCl creates an acidic medium which helps the action of the enzyme pepsin. Mucus protects the inner lining of the stomach from the action of the acid. Pepsin is involved in the digestion of proteins.

Answered by  | 23rd Dec, 2008, 12:22: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.