Please explain Line Spectrum of Hydrogen.

Asked by Amarjeet Pati | 17th Jul, 2010, 12:00: AM

Expert Answer:

The lines in the emission spectrum of hydrogen are classified into 5 series. Lyman series, Balmer series, Paschen series, Brackett series and Pfund series.

The first series of lines  corresponds to n1 is equal to 1 and n2 equal to 2, 3, 4, and so on. This is known as Lyman series and it appears in the ultraviolet region.

Similarly for Balmer, Paschen, Brackett and Pfund  series, n1  =2, 3 , 4 and 5 respectively.

These series lie in different regions.Lyman series lies in the Ultraviolet region. Balmer series lies in the visible region while Paschen, Brackett and Pfund lie in the infrared region.

You can also see our episode on Spectrum where everything is explained with animations.

Answered by  | 22nd Jul, 2010, 09:29: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.