Mention various categories of land described in Chola inscriptions?

Asked by Topperlearning User | 4th Jun, 2014, 01:36: PM

Expert Answer:

The various categories of land are

1. Vellanvagai - land of non-Brahmana peasant proprietors.

2. Brahmadeya - land gifted to Brahmanas.

3. Shalabhoga - land for the maintenance of a school.

4. Devadana, tirunamattukkani - land gifted to temples.

5. Pallichchhandam - land donated to Jaina institutions.

Answered by  | 4th Jun, 2014, 03:36: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.