how many laws of reflection are there?what are they?

Asked by sridhar Meka | 21st Feb, 2014, 05:40: PM

Expert Answer:

There are two laws of reflection.

The first law of refraction: The incident ray, the refracted ray and the normal to the interface of two transparent media at the point of incidence, all lie in the same plane.

Second law of refraction: The ratio of the sine of angle of incidence to the sine of angle of refraction is a constant for a given pair of medium and for a given wavelength of light. This law is also known as Snell’s law.

The constant is called the refractive index of second medium with respect to the first medium.

The cause of refraction is the change in the speed of light as it goes from one medium to another medium.Larger the difference in speeds of light, the greater will be the angle of bending and vice-versa.


Answered by  | 21st Feb, 2014, 05:48: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.