how are the sperms released?

Asked by tejinder2341 | 18th Dec, 2015, 07:50: PM

Expert Answer:

  • Sperms are produced inside the testes of the male reproductive system.
  • The process of the formation of spermatozoa or sperms from spore mother cells or spermatogonia of the germinal epithelium lining the seminiferous tubules is called spermatogenesis.
  • It occurs in the seminiferous tubules of the testes of males.
  • Four sperms are formed from one single spermatogonium by meiotic cell division.
  • After spermiogenesis, sperm heads become embedded in the Sertoli cells. They are released from the seminiferous tubules by spermiation.
  • A structure called epididymis stores and nourishes the newly formed sperms.
  • The mature sperms then travel from epididymis through vas deferens into the ejaculatory duct.
  • From the ejaculatory duct, the sperms along with the secretions of the seminal vesicles travel through the urethra towards the penis.
  • During sexual intercourse, the penis transfers semen containing sperms into the reproductive tract of the female.

Answered by Sheetal Kolte | 21st Dec, 2015, 11:45: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.