Explain the various phases of menstrual cycle with reference to changes in ovary and uterus and hormonal cycle

Asked by nayanmanilaskar437 | 10th May, 2021, 09:58: PM

Expert Answer:

The menstrual cycle is divided into four phases, namely:

  1. Menstrual phase: Day 1, uterus lining which is prepared for implantation starts to shed which lasts 3 to 5 days.
  2. Follicular phase: A matured egg follicle releases an egg from one of the ovaries. Also, uterus starts preparation for another pregnancy.
  3. Ovulatory phase: Mid-cycle phase, this is the phase in which ovulation takes place i.e., day 13-17. End of follicular phase along with ovulation period defines the fertilization period.
  4. Luteal phase: Post ovulation phase where the fate of corpus luteum is decided. If fertilization occurs, pregnancy starts. If fertilization doesn’t occur, it marks the onset of another cycle.

Answered by Sheetal Kolte | 11th May, 2021, 11:56: AM