Describe:-(a)male reproductive system and (b) female reproductive system

Asked by Shubhangi Gauraha | 12th Nov, 2013, 06:45: PM

Expert Answer:

Male Reproductive System:

1. Testes (Testicles):

  • Pair of testes is located below the abdomen in scrotal sac or scrotum.
  • Testes produce male gametes sperms (germ cells).
  • Sperms can withstand with the lower temperature.
  • To maintain the temperature 2 – 3 0C lower than the body, scrotum is located outside the body cavity.

2. Epididymis:

  • Tubes present in testes join to form epididymis.
  • Epididymis stores sperms temporarily.

3. Vas deferens (sperm duct):

  • Each epididymis continues further as sperm duct or vas deferens.
  • Each vas deferens unites with a tube coming from the urinary bladder on either side.
  • Thus, urethra is the common passage for sperms and urine.

4. Seminal Vesicles:

  • A pair of glands.
  • Each gland opens into the corresponding sperm duct.
  • Seminal vesicle produces secretion which is responsible for the transportation of sperms.

5. Prostate gland:

  • It is bilobed structure which surrounds the urethra.
  • It pours an alkaline secretion into the semen.

6. Cowper’s gland:

  • These are two small ovoid glands.
  • They open into urethra.
  • Its secretion serves as a lubricant.

7. Penis:

  • The urethra passes through the penis.
  • It carries either urine or semen at a time.

Female Reproductive System


  • Two ovaries present in the pelvic cavity, one each side of the uterus.
  • Ovaries produce ova which are female gametes.
  • One ovum is released by one ovary every month.
  • Ovaries also secrete female hormones oestrogen and progesterone.
  • Both the hormones are responsible for the changes in female body at the time of puberty.

2. OVIDUCTS (Fallopian tube):

  • The two oviducts or fallopian tubes are present. Each close to one ovary of its side.
  • The end of the oviduct is broad and has many finger-like projections.
  • When the egg is released by the ovary it passes down to the uterus through the oviduct.

3. UTERUS (Womb):

  • Hollow pear-shaped, muscular organ.
  • The inner lining of the uterus called endothelium protects and nourishes the developing embryo.

4. VAGINA (Birth Canal):

  • Uterus opens into the vagina.
  • Vagina is a muscular, narrow tube.


  • Vagina and urethra both open into the vulva.

Answered by Sivanand Patnaik | 12th Nov, 2013, 06:58: PM