Define heart structure.

Asked by  | 27th Sep, 2012, 08:54: PM

Expert Answer:

The heart is a muscular cone-shaped organ about the size of a clenched fist of the same person. It is located in the chest area between the lungs.

The heart is divided into separate right and left sections by the septum. Each of these right and left sections is also divided into upper and lower compartments known as atria and ventricles, respectively. Thus the heart has four main chambres of the heart which are right and left atrium and right and left ventricle.

Deoxygenated blood enters the right atrium from the Superior vena cava and the Inferior vena cava. Deoxygenated blood leaves the right ventricle by Pulmonary artery, which takes blood to the lungs via the right and left brances of the pulmonary artery. Oxygenated blood enters the left atrium from the Pulmonary veins. Oxygenated blood leaves the left ventricle by Ascending aorta.

The Tricuspid valve separates the right atrium from the right ventricle. The Pulmonary valve separates the right ventricle from the pulmonary artery. The Mitral (also known as the Bicuspid) valve separates the left atrium from the left ventricle. The Aortic valve separates the left ventricle from the ascending aorta.

Answered by  | 28th Sep, 2012, 10:40: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.