Can you please explain me five kingdom of classification ??

Asked by Pranay | 14th Mar, 2017, 01:52: PM

Expert Answer:

The Five-kingdom Classification proposed by Whittaker is the most widely used classification system. According to this system, based on their cell structure, mode of nutrition and body organisation, organisms are divided into five kingdoms:

  • Kingdom Monera
  • Kingdom Protista
  • Kingdom Fungi
  • Kingdom Plantae
  • Kingdom Animalia






  • Organisms have a prokaryotic cell structure.
  • The cell lacks a distinct nucleus.

Bacteria, Cyanobacteria, Mycoplasma



  • Contain a well-defined nucleus.
  • Nuclear materials are organised in the form of a linear, double-stranded and helical DNA along with proteins.

Chlamydomonas, Euglena, Amoeba



  • Possess a true nucleus and a definite cell wall, which is composed of chitin.

Mucor, Rhizopus, Puccinia 



  • Cell is bound by a cell wall, which is made of cellulose.
  • Contains a true nucleus and membrane-bound cell organelles.

Algae, mosses, ferns


  • Lack cell wall and plastid.

Earthworm, Sycon, beetle

Answered by Sheetal Kolte | 14th Mar, 2017, 02:01: PM