Briefly explain any three important provisions of the Montague-Chelmsford reforms of 1919.

Asked by Topperlearning User | 5th Mar, 2015, 02:02: PM

Expert Answer:

Following are three important provisions of the Montague-Chelmsford reforms of 1919:

Provincial Legislative Councils - The reforms and the subsequent Government of India Act of 1919 provided for the establishment of a Legislative Council consisting of the members of the Executive Council as well as of nominated and elected members. At least 75% of the members were supposed to be elected and of the nominated members not more than 20% were to be officials. The tenure of a Legislative Council was decided to be three years.

Dual Government or Dyarchy in the Provinces - The system of dual government or ‘Dyarchy’ was proposed to be introduced in the provinces. The subjects to be dealt with by the Provincial Government were divided into ‘reserved subjects’ and ‘transferred subjects’. The former ones, like Law and Order; Finance; Irrigation, would be administered by the Governor with the help of the Executive Council nominated by him. The latter which included Education; Public Health and Agriculture, would be managed by the Governor with the help of the Council of Ministers chosen by him. These would be nominated from among elected members of the legislature. While they were to be responsible to both the Governor and the Legislature, the Governor was not bound to accept their advice. He could overrule the ministers on any ground that he considered special. He also enjoyed complete control over the finances.

Elections - The system of indirect election was replaced by that of direct election. The Act ensured communal representation and even the Sikhs, Europeans and Anglo-Indians were awarded separate representation in elected bodies. 

Answered by  | 5th Mar, 2015, 04:02: PM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.