Asked by  | 4th Mar, 2012, 06:39: AM

Expert Answer:

The Cornea: It focuses the light that enters the eye. It comprises of five parts, all of which work together to protect the eye and help in the proper working of the cornea as a whole.

The Lens: Its role is to focus the light and move towards the retina.

The Uvea: It is made up of three parts, choroid, ciliary body and iris.
i) The choroid prevents the rays of light from bouncing off on the back side of the eye.
ii) The role of ciliary body is to assist in the adjustment of the shape of the lens.
iii) The iris gives your eyes a particular color. The composition of the iris enables it to dilate or contract the pupil, which in turn controls the amount of light that falls on the retina.

The Retina: The retina consists of nerve tissue that senses the light entering the eye. Its function is to send impulses through the optic nerve back to the brain, where it gets translated into the images that we see.

The Pupil: The pupil gets bigger and smaller depending on the amount of light falling on the eye.

The Optic Nerve: It connects the eye with the brain.

The Sclera: Its role is to provide protection and meet the purpose of attachment for the extraocular muscles that enables eye to move.

The Vitreous Humor: Its role is to provide pressure inside the eye and keep it inflated

Answered by  | 5th Mar, 2012, 08:29: AM

Queries asked on Sunday & after 7pm from Monday to Saturday will be answered after 12pm the next working day.